Sports Photography

I decided to experiment and do two shoots.  The first was a middle school basketball game and I practiced shooting indoors.  I realize you must really be on your toes when you shoot sporting events, especially basketball when you are close to the action.  I think there were plenty of times that I was in close encounter with the basketball or a player.  It was interesting to pay attention to the fans, coaches and referees as well and capture some of their facial expressions during the game.  I find it exciting shooting sports and learned how to watch the game without looking through my viewfinder.  I realized that at middle school games it can be difficult to obtain rosters of the teams.  One of the coaches had simply wrote down the players numbers without the names.  I know that in shooting sporting events it is always mandatory to gather the team rosters.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The second sports photo assignment was the Wayne State University Women’s softball team.  The day I went to the doubleheader was a beautiful sunny day so I was thankful the lighting would be good for shooting.  The WSU Warriors team played the Grand Valley Lakers.  I learned that baseball/softball games can be tricky to shoot if you are not on the field due to various obstacles, namely fences.  I did find a way to shoot in between the fence while talking to some players warming up.   I was informed by one of a good spot to get action shots which is how I was able to capture most of my batting/pitching photos.  I learned a lot and namely how tricky it can be shooting sports action.

 

Leave a Reply

